Thai food uses a wide range of ingredients which help to create a taste sensation that many people adore. However, due to the wide range of ingredients in Thai dishes, it is important to be aware that some people may not be able to enjoy some of the most common dishes because of the presence of allergens.
Coeliac Awareness Week
The week beginning 9 May has been designated Coeliac Awareness Week. The aim of the week is to improve diagnosis and to empower more people to ask themselves “Is it coeliac disease?" by highlighting the most common symptoms. But what if you have the disease? Is it safe to eat at a Thai restaurant?
One of the biggest issues for coeliacs is the use of soy sauce which is a common ingredient in many stir-fried dishes. But there are many tasty Thai dishes which are suitable for coeliacs. At The Lime Leaf we have a gluten free menu which coeliacs can choose from with confidence.
In December 2015 an EU Regulation came into force requiring food establishments to provide information on the presence of the following 14 allergens:
- Cereals which contain gluten – wheat, rye, barley, oats
- Crustaceans for example prawns, crabs, lobster, crayfish
- Milk and lactose
- Sulphites/Sulphur Dioxide
- Molluscs - mussels, whelks, oysters, snails and squid
At The Lime Leaf our staff can advise which dishes contain any of the above allergens. We have also prepared a table which shows the allergens which are present in each dish. It may be worth highlighting that shrimp paste is a common ingredient in most Thai curry pastes and fish sauce is used in many stir-fried dishes, including some where the main ingredient is not seafood.
We are ready to answer any questions diners may have about allergens in our food, including those not listed above.